Bellagio Publishing Network  





Caine Prize for African Writing 2003 shortlist announced

A shortlist of five African writers has been chosen by the panel of judges for this year’s Caine Prize for African Writing. The winner of the US$15,000 prize will be announced on 14 July, in Oxford, UK.

The 2003 shortlist comprises:

  • Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor (Kenya), for ‘Weight of Whispers’ from Kwani?, Nairobi (2003);

  • Ken Barris (South Africa), for ‘Clubfoot’ from Modern South African Stories, AD Donker Publishers, Johannesburg and Cape Town (2002);

  • Emmanuel Dongala (Congo), for ‘Ouagadougou’ from Transition, Duke University Press, USA (Issue 86, 2000);

  • Rachelle Greeff (South Africa), for ‘Tell Him it is Never Too Late’ from Modern South African Stories, AD Donker Publishers, Johannesburg and Cape Town (2002);

  • George Makana Clark (Zimbabwe), for ‘A is for Ancestors’, from Transition, Duke University Press, USA (Issue 84, 2000).

The Chair of this year’s panel of judges is Abdulrazak Gurnah, who teaches literature at the University of Kent and is the author of six novels, of which ‘Paradise’ was short listed for the 1994 Booker Prize. The other judges are Shirley Chew, Professor of Commonwealth and Postcolonial Literatures at the University of Leeds; John Sutherland, Lord Northcliffe Professor of Modern English Literature at University College London and visiting professor of literature at the California Institute of Technology, and Nana Wilson-Tagoe, Senior Lecturer in African Literatures at the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London.

The Prize, awarded annually for African creative writing, is named after the late Sir Michael Caine, former Chairman of Booker plc and Chairman of the Booker Prize management committee for nearly 25 years. The Prize is awarded for a short story by an African writer, published in English (whether in Africa or elsewhere), with an indicative length of 3,000 to 15,000 words. An “African writer” is taken to mean a writer born anywhere on the African continent whose work reflects that cultural background.

The shortlisted stories from 2001 have been published in a collection called Timbuktu, Timbuktu (Jacana, Johannesburg, 2002). An anthology including the 2002 shortlisted stories will be published later this year.

For further information please contact:

Nick Elam
The Caine Prize for African Writing
Tel: +44 20 7376 0440
Fax: +44 20 7938 3728

home about us news resources subscribe
newsletter forum search



© Bellagio Publishing Network 2002-2005.